Whats The Big Deal With Getting A Premium Membership?

I get the question all the time… “I see this Premium thing… what’s that all about?” The Premium Program was created for those who love the Tutsplus Network and wanted more. For only $9 a month, Premium members have access to our HUGE archive of content.


Premium Members Have Access To:

  • Over 375 Exclusive High End Advanced Tutorials
  • Over 840 Project Files direct from the Authors
  • Well over 100 After Effects-specific downloads
  • Exclusive Giveaways and Contests

Just A Few Titles From The AE Premium Archives

Composite A Super Stellar Jet Chase Shot

After Effects vs. Nuke

Achieve a Microfilm Machine Look

Enhance Your Images With HolOS

The 12 Basic Principles of Animation

Advanced 2D Cartoon Lip Sync Animation


More then anything, becoming a Premium Member allows us to keep the content coming. Without you, this network of quality creative resources wouldn’t be possible.


A Sneak Peek at Premium for Non-members


Vector Premium launched in late September 2008. Since then we’ve added over 60 Premium tutorials for Premium members and hundreds of Illustrator and InDesign source files. Over 10,000 members have formed our unique Premium community. Learn more about the material and resources available to Premium members to Join Premium today.

Continue reading “A Sneak Peek at Premium for Non-members”

Create a Painterly Apple with Illustrator CS5’s new Bristle Brush


The new Bristle Brush in Illustrator CS5 gives you the best of both worlds: The painterly effects of real media and the control and flexibility of a vector drawing. We’ll use another new feature in CS5, the "Draw Inside" drawing mode, which will let us do what every artist likes to do — color outside the lines. Let’s get started!

Continue reading “Create a Painterly Apple with Illustrator CS5’s new Bristle Brush”

Mastering Elements Part 4: Stereo Enhancement

When it comes to mastering treatments stereo enhancement is a tricky one. Beginners often make the mistake of overusing it or using the wrong plug-ins for the job. The good news is, with the right technique in place, there is a place for stereo processing in your mastering chain.

In this tutorial I’ll go through a few examples of different stereo processing that can be used in mastering and highlight some of the pitfalls that you might come across. I’ve tried to cover processors from as many different DAWs and manufacturers as possible.


Step 1: What to Avoid

The main thing that presents a problem when it comes to stereo treatment in mastering is the use of the wrong processor. Many DAWs supply stereo enhancement tools that are perfectly usable in the mix but are not really suited to a mastering environment.

The majority of these ‘mix’ processors are single band in nature, meaning that they treat the entire frequency range indiscriminately. This leads to a situation where we are processing parts of our mix that should remain untouched.

In most cases it’s our low end that should remain intact and that is something our single band plug-ins just aren’t capable of. Below are a few examples of the sort of processors I’m referring to and our example track processed by them.

The untreated example clip.

Download audio file (1.mp3)

The untreated recording.

The Cubase stereo enhancer.

Download audio file (1b.mp3)

… and treated with the Cubase single band enhancer.

In this example the stereo widening is pretty impressive but the low end mix has been threatened and loses is clarity and focus.


Step 2: The Subtle Approach

If you are a firm part of the ‘less is more’ camp then you may want to take the subtle approach to stereo enhancement. A simple linear phase equaliser can be enough to make your masters sound a little wider.

Before you apply any other mastering processors, duplicate your exported track and place it on two tracks in your chosen DAW. Pan one hard left and the other hard right. Now apply a mastering grade EQ to each channel. You can now apply different EQ settings to each side of your master.

Avoid working on lower frequencies here and concentrate on high mids and high frequency. Also keep Q values low to avoid coloration and hype. So for instance add a few db of high frequency in one side and remove a few db of the same frequency in the other.

Of course this will work better in some situation than in others. It can be a great way of adding some width to older recordings that perhaps lack a great stereo image. If you find the EQ adds too much coloration, you can also try the same technique using very slightly different compression values in each side.

Two linear phase EQs providing stereo enhancement.

Download audio file (2.mp3)

The audio with some subtle EQ based widening.

The duplicate channels panned hard.


Step 3: Dedicated Mastering Enhancement

Using a dedicated stereo mastering processor is probably the most popular route to achieving a wider image. There are many to choose from but the main thing to look out for is a frequency dependant interface.

Logic provides a frequency specific enhancer

As does Reson / Record.

To give you an example of what I mean check out the stereo enhancer included in isotope’s Ozone processor. Many DAWs include stereo processors suitable for mastering as well. Logic Pro 9′s enhancer, for example, is capable of effecting only certain frequencies.

Izotope Ozone’s fully features stereo enhancement area

Download audio file (3.mp3)

The audio is treated by Ozone.


Step 4: Parallel Tricks

There are some situations where more intense stereo processes can be used in mastering but some know how is required here. Setting up a parallel buss in your mastering project will allow you to apply pretty much any process to your parallel mix, without adversely effecting your final master.

With a second version of you mix set up you can apply even single band enhancement and mix to taste. Even in this situation it’s a good idea to filter the low end from the secondary stream to ensure that you don’t create a confused and incoherent low end mix.

This technique can also be used to add extra compression an limiting during the mastering process. In general parallel processing during mastering will create a much denser, louder result with a vastly reduced dynamic range, so if this is not what your after you may want to look at other options.

A parallel mastering buss set up in Cubase 5

Download audio file (4.mp3)

The audio is given added stereo width in Cubase.


Step 5: M/S Technology

Using M/S based processors is a great way to enhance the stereo content in your mix and it’s also extremely transparent (and mono compatible!). If you are unsure what M/S processing is then you might want to have a quick read of my in depth tutorial on the subject… here.

You can route your own M/S processing set ups or use a dedicated plug-in. The latter is certainly the easier route but you will have to invest in the right plug-in and they aren’t cheap. Brainworx do make some really excellent products in this area.

Using M/S processing you can manipulate the mono and stereo data in your mix separately and not only enhance the stereo width but also force the lower frequencies to become mono. Extremely useful stuff!

The fantastic Brainworx ‘bx_digital V2′

Download audio file (5.mp3)

The file is treated to some M/S processing.


Step 6: Reverb on Your Master Anyone?

Now this is a bit of a strange one but some mastering processors do supply a mastering reverb section. Izotope’s Ozone has one and it’s certainly something that will supply a wider stereo feel, saying that I’m not 100% convinced on this one and would probably only reserve it to old recordings that needed restoration or a new lease of life.

All this said, I would never write off a technique, as what I may find strange someone else might swear by! So I would certainly look into it and see if its for you.

The mastering reverb section of the Izotope Ozone suite

Download audio file (6.mp3)

Ozone’s reverb is added.


Workshop #109: Exploding Train by Ganesh Rao

At Audiotuts+ we regularly put up a reader track for workshopping and critique (find out how to submit a track). This is how it works: you upload your song, and every week or so we’ll publish one here and step away from the podium. The floor is yours to talk about the track and how the artist can fix problems in and improve upon the mix and the song.

This track has been submitted for your friendly, constructive criticism. They have put their track (and their heart and soul) in your hands to learn and get useful feedback.

  • Do you enjoy the song or track itself? Does it have potential?
  • Can the arrangement be improved?
  • How did you find the mix? What would you do differently?
  • What do you enjoy about the rhythm track? What can be done to improve it?
  • Is the choice of instruments relevant and effective for the style/song?
  • Are the lyrics (if any) effective? Does the style, arrangement and genre of the song suit them?
  • Can you suggest any specific techniques that might improve the track?
  • Do you have any other constructive feedback?

Exploding Train by Ganesh Rao

Artist’s website: ganeshnrao.com

Description of the track:

My latest progressive metal instrumental. Recorded and programmed in Garageband. I use Guitar Rig for the guitars, and Drumkit From Hell for the drums. Hope you enjoy this.

Download audio file (GaneshRaoExplodingTrain.mp3)

Terms of Use: People can download this for free.

Have a listen to the track and offer your constructive criticism for this Workshop in the comments section.


Submit Your Tracks for Workshopping

Need constructive criticism on your own tracks? Submit them using this form.


How to Save Money in Your Home Studio

Studio equipment is expensive! If things keep breaking, replacing them can rack up quite a cost. If you’re like me, you want to make every cent count. Here are a few tips about cutting costs.


1. Consider Second Hand Gear

It’s amazing how many people won’t buy second hand gear because they have to have the “best”. They want something brand new and shiny. This train of thought will cost you a lot more money in the long run – money you might not have to have spent.

Second hand gear can be just as great as new gear. Only it’s been used before and it’s a hell of a lot cheaper! Why do most people sell their gear? It’s usually because they’re upgrading, not because there is something wrong with it.

Think about it. If you upgrade your console are you really going to keep the one you never use, or sell it and make some of your money back on the ridiculously expensive piece of new equipment you bought?


2. Take Care of Your Cables

Cables just cost a couple of pounds or dollars here and there right? But are they costing you more than they should be?

Inside your cables are thin copper wires that are very delicate. Bending the cable one way and then the other will and can break cause breakages. These things are delicate and need to be looked after. If you have to replace them every other week you’re going to spend most your income replacing them.

There are proper coiling techniques that can be learnt that will save you a lot of money in the long run. Don’t wrap them around your elbow! You will also want to buy some cable ties so they don’t keep uncoiling.

But if you’re more of the DIY Person you could always bulk order the materials and make your own cables, I’ve known people to do this and they save a lot of money for that little extra work. If you’re interested, check out Glynn Davies’ article.


3. Make the Most of Your Space

Drums

We know drums are LOUD, and they take up a lot of space. If you’re struggling for space and can’t soundproof the room there is an alternative: drum samples.

Yeah, drum samples can do a great job on a track. Of course they’re not as flexible when trying to get the sound you want like you can with a real drum kit, and they will probably sound somewhat artificial. But if you’re on a budget I guarantee these will do you well!

And you can probably find some cheap or freeware samples around the Net.

Amps

Amps take up a lot of room as well, and if you really want a small cheap setup these are the way to go. You can pay out a lot of money for expensive amps, or get yourself a amp simulator/plug-in. For example, Amplitube 3 is a great piece of software.

Again, these can sound quite artificial at times, but not always. And again, it’s not as flexible when trying to get the sound you want compared to owning your own amps.


4. DIY Equipment

Do vocal booths and pop shields cost too much? Looking for an alternative? Do it yourself! I warn you these things are not pretty if you’re looking to make a professional studio. But they do the job pretty well.

Pop Shields – Tights

Yeah, that’s right. Go steal a pair of your girlfriend’s, wife’s or mother’s tights. You can make a pretty good pop shield by stretching them over a coat hanger. Be creative – they may do a good job.

Vocal Booths – Foam or Two Couches

Who would have thought? I have known people to lie two couches on their side and put them together with a microphone inside. If you manage to stuff your singer inside you can apparently get quite good results!

Or you could just put a large piece of foam behind the microphone. This does a good job if your low on cash.

Again, be creative and use anything that you can get your hands on that will absorb sound. Carpets not worth bothering with – I’ve known people who’ve tried.

Cables – Build from Parts

This solution isn’t so improvised: as I mentioned earlier, buying parts in bulk and putting together your own cables can save you a lot of money if you’re a DIY person.


5. Get the Most from Your Computer

Computers are an important part of any studio, and you need a good one to run all your programs and plug-ins. There are a few ways to cut costs here, but not many.

Make sure you know what software you want to run before you get your computer, as some software only runs on certain operating systems. I prefer Mac OSX for Logic Studio, but that’s just me. You might be perfectly happy running Cubase on your Windows computer.

Upgrade

Your computer will need a lot of processing power to run all these programs and plug-ins, but instead of buying a new computer when your old one starts to struggle, take off the case and upgrade some of the hardware.

A better processor and some more RAM should do the trick. And as we know WAV and AIFF files are large, so a bigger hard drive is important.

Converting your files to the smaller MP3 format is not recommended – it is a compressed file format that will ruin the quality of your audio files. I would recommend getting an external drive to put all your finished work onto, freeing space on your hard drive. And keep a backup in case your computer decides to break down on you (as they do).

Track Freezing

If your computer’s starting to struggle and you’re a little low on cash, you can freeze tracks on most digital audio workstations (DAWs). This will write your plug-in details as audio, and save you some of that much loved processing power. Read more in these tutorials by Björgvin and Sean.

Well, there are my tips on saving money in the studio. Feel free to add to them in the comments.


Psdtuts joins the Smashing Network


A quick bit of news today to let you know that Psdtuts+ has joined the Smashing Network which means you’ll now be able to see Psdtuts+ posts appear on Smashing’s awesome Web Design Post Network section! The quality of sites in the network is simply phenomenal, and I’m thrilled that Vitaly and the crew are letting our tutorials reach even more people through their network.

If you’ve not ever flicked through the Smashing Network, I highly recommend heading over. The only downside is you usually end up with way more awesome articles than you could possibly read! :-)

A Sneak Peek at Premium for Non-Members


During the last few years Psdtuts+ has grown considerably. We went from one tutorial site, to a family of them; each with their own unique focus. About two and a half years ago, Psdtuts+ was the first Tuts+ site to go Premium. Since then, we have had a total of 7 sites launch premium subscriptions, with more on the way! The growth of our Premium Membership Program over the last couple of years as been incredible. During that time, we have published a total of 371 premium tutorials and released 841 premium source files; and with every new site we launch, the numbers just keep growing and growing!

Occasionally we receive some questions regarding our Premium Membership Program. The most common questions we receive involve how much it costs, and what exactly do members get access to. Today, we would like to introduce you to our Premium Membership Program by showing you exactly what you will receive when you become a member.


How Much Does it Cost?

Our Premium Membership Program costs $9 a month (or $22 for 3 months). That’s about 30 cents per day!


What do You Get Access to?

Premium Membership gets you access to all the source files for tutorials that we publish on this site as well as a few periodic bonus tutorials and freebie sets that are exclusively available to our premium membership. In addition, Premium Members get access to all the other sites in our Premium Network including Psdtuts, Vectortuts, Activetuts, Nettuts, Aetuts, and more!


Sneak Peek

Take a look at what you will see when you become a Premium Member.


Why Join?

By joining our Premium Membership Program you will gain access to over 841 source files from tutorials throughout the Tuts+ Network. Source files will help you learn faster as you can dig though them and learn first hand how a tutorial was accomplished. You will also help support the Tuts+ family of websites. Our Premium Membership Program helps support our site, allowing us to pay more high quality authors to provide content back to you.


How to Join?

So what are you waiting for? Become a Premium Member today!

Create Gold Ornamental Text in Photoshop


Ornamental text can be created in several ways. Today we will demonstrate how to combine several stock images to create some nice gold ornamental typography. Let’s get started!


Resources Used

The following resources were used during the production of this tutorial:


Step 1

Create a new document 1400 x 800 px and fill it with black. Draw a vertical guide that cuts your document in half.


Step 2

Place the clouds photo as shown. Now desaturate this image by going to Image > Adjustments > Hue/Saturation and apply the settings as shown.


Step 3

Now place the grunge texture as shown and change its layer blending mode to soft light.


Step 4

Now it’s time to start creating text. You can choose to create any word that you like but in this case we are going to create the word “Aztec.” For this step it is very important that you choose nice stock images to create the ornaments. I chose this package of images from CGTextures.com.


Step 5

Extract ornaments using the Pen Tool as shown below. When you’re done you should have about 11 pieces.


Step 6

Now start combining these elements to create your letters. Feel free to warp, re-size, position, or erase areas as needed.


Step 7

Repeat Step 6 until you have created a “z”.


Step 8

Repeat Step 6 until you have created a “t”.


Step 9

Repeat Step 6 until you have created a “e”.


Step 10

Repeat Step 6 until you have created a “c”.


Step 11

Now we need to start blending our letters together. To do this, duplicate all your layers and merge them down to one. Make sure to save a copy of all your layers just in case. Now take your smudge tool and start blending the elements together to make everything look smooth. A nice soft brush about 4 – 9 px should work well.


Step 12

Now let’s add some shadows. Apply the following layer style to your text.


Step 13

Applying an inner shadow will increase the contrast of the piece.


Step 14

Now let’s add some additional elements to our background. Open the Splatter Brushes and apply them on a new layer as shown using black.


Step 15

Now open this brush pack and select a red #8d0000 color. Use the first brush in the pack and paint some red in as shown.


Step 16

With a red # dc0021 color still selected keep painting in some bright red highlights with a 35 px brush as shown below on a new layer.

Temporarily turn off the visibility of the text layer and go to Filter > Blur > Motion Blur.

Now use a soft 65 px brush to erase areas as shown and set blending mode to color dodge.


Step 17

Use the second brush from this pack and apply it to the background as shown on a new layer.

Create a clipping mask (Cmd/Ctrl + Alt + G) for this brush. Create a new layer above the brush layer and draw something similar to what is shown below.

Here is how this layer looks without a mask.


Step 18

Merge all the background elements and go to Filter  > Blur > Surface Blur.

Use a soft eraser to remove areas you don’t like. Use the smudge tool to smooth out rough areas as well.


Step 19

Turn on your text layer’s visibility and draw in some highlights as shown with a 3 px #360a0b color.


Step 20

Select the type tool # cc982f and add the text “TREASURES OF THE” and place it as shown. Use the Blair Caps font and apply the layer styles as shown.


Step 21

To add something extra to your text use a 3D brush from this pack and apply it on a new layer with #ddaf00 selected.


Step 22

Add some sparks using this set of brushes.

Apply the following layer style.


Step 23

Create a new layer above all others and take a large 300 px brush and paint in some black around the edges as shown. Now go to Blur > Gaussian Blur to smooth out the transition.


Step 24

Duplicate and merge your layers into one. Now add a radial blur as shown.

Set the blending mode of this layer to lighten and its transparency to 75%.


Step 25

Our artwork is almost complete! Add some backlights with a soft 100 px brush using #e96800 as shown.

Delete areas as needed with the eraser.

Set the blending mode to screen.


Step 26

We’re almost finished! Go to Filter > Sharpen > Smart Sharpen. Then go to Layer > New Adjustment Layer > Brightness/Contrast. Done!

Oscommerce Email Problems

I have installed an oscommerce site and am having some trouble with the emails. I am using ‘sendmail’ in admin.
1. Order emails get delivered to admin, but not the client
2. Contact Us form is working fine
3. Newsletter via admin is also working
4. Send an email to client via admin is not working

I need someone with experience in oscommerce and especially the mail system to let me know what you are going to do and what it will cost. If your bid is accepted and the problem is not fixed, you will not be paid. So PLEASE only bid if you have fixed a similar problem before.

Experienced .net Developer Needed

Hi,

Please note: This is a featured project so it is okay to provide your direct contact details.

I need an experienced .NET developer. Experience with aspx, CSLA, devexpress and MS SQL preferred. The first task will be to help me install a local and remote version of an existing site. In other words, I would like to create a local and/or remote development environement for my site. Please quote an hourly rate.

Sorry, developers with no feedback will not be considered for this project. Also, you must have a reliable phone and high-speed internet connection.

Thanks.

Website Fixes Needed

Hi, my website www.bizzyads.com would need some fixes to the code

First problem, the site is not showing correctly in different browser

Second problem, the site is loading very slow takes about 30 seconds to come up.

The main problem is that I had different people working on the site
and now the code seems to be a bit of a mess

The site is very cpmplex due to running an Adserver and MLM member scrip. I’m looking for an experienced Freelancer to clean it all up and make it work.

Please NOTE: Prefer to work directly with a Freelancer. Companies don’t apply you will be wasting your time.